[UPDATED] Toward a More Perfect Union? (Part V)

UPDATE: They have all made their tweets private, so the links contained herein will no longer work. PDF and slideshow remain.

Erilus, who did not respond to requests for comments, has commented on this entry, saying “I wanted to comment with my own words on this ‘report’ instead of giving it to someone who will obviously twist them around.”

I’ve incorporated some of her remarks into the body of the post as I did for those who responded earlier. I’m certainly not trying to “twist” anything or aiming to make anyone look bad; these are the statements that have been made. Read the rest of her remarks in the comments.

NOTE: Some of the language in this post may offend you. Read on at your discretion.

This post is part of a series; you can read earlier posts below.

Part I ¦ Part II ¦ Part III ¦ Part IV

I started out this series by calling it one of the most heated SG debates in some time. Today, I’ll give you some examples by highlighting public statements from leadership (or recent leadership) in BSU&MP and Konbit Kreyol.

It turns out a lot of these people are fairly prolific users of Twitter. Most of their profiles — and thus their postings, called tweets — are public. I checked their tweets for the past month, which is how long the Boca House has been debating the reform issue.

What follows are some of their most colorful statements, many of which are from April 2: the first House meeting where reform legislation was proposed and discussed, and one which several BSU&MP and Konbit Kreyol members attended.

***

You can see screenshots of these tweets in a slideshow at the bottom of this entry. Or you can download them as a PDF. In both of those formats they’re listed chronologically.

I’m going to contextualize and reproduce them here by person, with direct links to the individual tweets.

knesbeth

Kerri-Ann Nesbeth, BSU&MP Director

you have got to be FUCKING kidding me.
4:33 PM Apr 2nd

BSU….BSU….no it’s BSUMP bruh #getitright
5:47 PM Apr 2nd

RT @NephewSays: I’m so proud of @knesbeth! I remember last year when she was thrown in the midst of this war // thanks boo i love u 2 : – )
5:39 PM Apr 2nd

i’m all for sitting with all the cultural clubs and reading these anonymous emails.. but dear god don’t put OUR faith in “this guy’s” hands
5:44 PM Apr 2nd

Kerri-Ann Nesbeth is the outgoing director of BSU&MP. She took over a year ago, when Student Affairs was beginning to talk about a name change for the organization.

Nesbeth was frustrated, but (relatively) restrained at the meeting. The second tweet was a response to House reps repeatedly referring to BSU&MP as just “BSU” during the debate. She said pretty much the same thing aloud a few times during that meeting, as I recall.

“RT” stands for retweet; thus someone else’s tweet is repeated, and often responded to before or after some textual indicator such as “//”. So in the third tweet, she is repeating and responding to something Jamar Germain (“NephewSays”) said.

When I contacted Nesbeth for comment, she was characteristically upbeat and laughed over the situation. She explained that she was angry during that initial meeting because of House Representative Sai Lo’s approach, which she described as “one person coming in and writing something that restructures everything.” Nesbeth had been angry, she said, because Lo had started out collaborative and then decided to go solo.

“My initial reaction was just anger and being really upset about the whole thing,” Nesbeth said. “A lot of people don’t know that Sai Lo had tried to do something and stopped and approached me. Then he stopped approaching me because he felt it wasn’t going anywhere.”

But, she added, Lo has adopted a less “extreme” position since a larger discussion began. She feels the version of reform legislation that ultimately did pass could lead to “something progressive,” and she plans to stay involved in the process.

Rose Chevalier, BSU&MP Programming Coordinator

rosita_says (rose_iris)



this meeting is getting me hot… #realtalk
4:19 PM Apr 2nd

mannnn fuck this suma wrestler lookin ass nigga!!!! grrrrrrrr I’m bout to pop off
4:47 PM Apr 2nd

Rose Chevalier served as programming coordinator for BSU&MP this year. These are from the same April 2 meeting where Lo — “the suma wrestler lookin ass nigga” referenced in tweet two — proposed a set of new rules for BSU&MP. Which evidently ticked everyone off.

While I was investigating the accounts of these student leaders, Chevalier changed her Twitter username and made her tweets private; thus the links I gave here will no longer work. You can still see screenshots in the PDF or slideshow at the bottom of this post.

As of this posting, she has not responded to requests for comment.

Mickey1804

Mikerlande Erilus, Konbit Kreyol Internal Vice President

I want to shoot or jump Si-Lo, who’s with me?
4:23 PM Apr 2nd

I’m about to get expelled from FAU!!! Yo hold me back, hold me back!!!! Oooooooh hold me back, I’m ’bout to POP OFF!!!!!!!
4:44 PM Apr 2nd

My thing is it would make sense to have a Latin student union with an MP because they are all similar cultures, #thinkaboutit
5:51 PM Apr 2nd

Mikerlande Erilus was Internal VP of Konbit Kreyol this year. She recently ran for president — and lost. Here she is about to “pop off” and suggests shooting Representative “Si-Lo.” An hour later she is more calmly reflecting on the issue.

As of this posting, she has not responded to requests for comment.

Subsequent to the original posting, she commented on this entry. You can read those unedited remarks below. In fairness to her, I include a portion of them here:

“I am not at all happy with this “report’, after this thing has been squashed fueling the fire makes no sense,” says Erilus. “yes I tweeted those things and I meant it at the time, anyone who knows who I am personally knows that I would never actually takes those actions seriously.”

She adds that “There are many other people who expressed the same concerns as we did at the time, only too afraid to say it publicly like we did, I don’t apologize for what I said, I apologize for the circumstances it was written under.”

Read the full comments from Ms. Erilus below the entry.

NephewSays

Jamar Germain, Konbit Kreyol Ex-President

RT @Mickey1804: I want to shoot or jump Sai-Lo, who’s with me?<~ *Raises both hands*
4:29 PM Apr 2nd

I frickin can’t stand this nigga and all the people who’s dicks he’s suckin to get his way here at FAU. Wtf is goin ON here?!
4:30 PM Apr 2nd

Soooo u gon sit there and be a puppet for this guy? Bitch u still hav skeet stains on ur eye from when he finished wit u…#WeakBasicBitch
4:33 PM Apr 2nd

Great frickin job suckin his dick in front of the house gov’na. I hope it was as good for u as it was for him you mindless idiot. #Bravo!…
4:49 PM Apr 2nd

#RiddleMeThis: isn’t the gov’na supposed to lookout 4 the best interest of her cabinet program? Isn’t he/she supposed to stand their ground?
5:11 PM Apr 2nd

Stuff like this makes me wanna run for house…Smh..
5:35 PM Apr 2nd

I can’t believe the foolishness I’m hearing from this short little asian man…
8:25 PM Apr 9th

@MzShyk Foolishness…I don’t even wanna get into it..lol. He needs to graduate or flunk out or something..
11:30 PM Apr 9th

Jamar Germain is the outgoing president of Konbit Kreyol. He was president when he made these tweets, though; the organization had its election on April 21, weeks after these were made.

Germain expressed enthusiasm for Erilus’ idea and corrected her typo. He vented about Representative Lo’s supposed ill-gotten influence. Then he seemingly alleged Boca Governor Marni Sherman had been sleeping with Lo and called her a “basic bitch.”

While Sherman was proposing a pow-wow to re-evaluate the situation — which did later happen, the minutes were mentioned and provided in a previous entry here — Germain said she wasn’t defending BSU&MP. In the last two tweets, he’s still venting about Lo. (“MzShyk” is Konbit Kreyol Events Coordinator Nashyka Jospitre.)

smh” stands for “shaking my head.” Example: Look at those tweets. Smh…

Konbit Kreyol Ex-President Jamar Germain speaks at an annual candlelight vigil held on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Jan. 18. This year's vigil was also to honor victims of the Haiti earthquake.

I also contacted Germain seeking comment. He initially “respectfully requested” that I not post the tweets.

I said that they were already publicly available and were, in fact, newsworthy.

I added that if he could demonstrate any of these were not about SG dealings or SG officials, I would exclude them.

He claimed two of them were not, and one of those I excluded because it mentions no names or titles and is contextually ambiguous enough for me to just take his word for it.

The other he said was not about SG was the third one listed above, about the “weak basic bitch.” Looking at the two tweets it happened between, I’m not convinced, myself.

He offered no other explanation, but for it to be about something other than SG would mean he suddenly had an angry outburst about a completely different subject, while he was sitting in an SG meeting that he was still tweeting about an hour later.

When he realized I was going to posts the tweets regardless, he made this statement: “My views are mine alone and do not and should effect [sic] any organizations I am/was affiliated with.”

Less than 15 minutes later, he tweeted: “I may be in the next UP guys…#DontJudgeMe if/when you see it…lmao”

Tomorrow: the inauguration of our new SG leaders, which takes place at 5 p.m. today. Stay tuned.

28 Responses to “[UPDATED] Toward a More Perfect Union? (Part V)”

  1. This is something all should read to expose the truth about BSUMP and its followers. Well written report. Thank you for putting this up.

    -Kyo

  2. FAU ALUM Says:

    I’ve read through this so called “informative info” that was posted about the peoople who were at those meeting. I’m sitting here wondering what is the real motive behind posting them. Seems to me that the reporter in fueling the flames of the issue at hand. And as a former studen who was around not just for this battle, but the for ones that came before this one, I’m not surprised. I can’t believe that you have people who continue to slander BSUMP…that’s right BSUMP…One more time…that’s BSUMP!… name after all the things that it has done not just for it self but for other organizations and clubs on the Boca Raton Campus. Mind you, BSUMP is still doing it. Ever heard of the saying, “If it ain’t broke!…Don’t fix it!” My God, people when will you learn to grow up!

  3. Truthfully the way I feel about this “report”. I’m not a follower of BSUMP konbit kreyol or Sai Lo (like apparently this repoter is) but this report seems very biased. maybe someone needs to make a couple tweets about you.
    thank you

  4. FAU ALUM Says:

    Also, it seems to be that for this reporter to have to steep so low to dig up “dirt” about the above mentioned people is pathetic. I mean going on Twitter, a site where anything can be posted whether it is true or not!…Come on!…Give me a break!…Everybody and there mother is on twitter!…Literally!…For example, if someone was to go onto twitter and say that Oprah Winfrey says that she is running for President in 2012, does it make it true?…And even if she did say it, it’s her right to put whatever she wants on her own twitter page!…That’s just plain common sense!…But, then again, I guess in this case common sense isn’t so common. SMH!

  5. BSUMP Follower Says:

    The truth about BSUMP is no way exposed in this blog Kyo. The “truth” of the organization resides in its programming and overall affect on the campus community.

    Do not comment on the reactions of these individuals if you were not present at any of the meetings that have taken place and/or events that BSUMP has put on or continues to put on.

    Learn the FACTS rather than reading opinions and ignorantly coming to a conclusion without talking to ALL individuals involved.

  6. FAU ALUM Says:

    So true BSUMP Follower!….I was there at those meetings like I said before in the my 1st statement. And you’re right, people who were not at any of those meetings really shouldn’t be commenting.

  7. Ms. Erilus Says:

    I am not at all happy with this “report’, after this thing has been squashed fueling the fire makes no sense, yes I tweeted those things and I meant it at the time, anyone who knows who I am personally knows that I would never actually takes those actions seriously. The words posted were posted through anger and just like my former President said, they should not reflect who I am affiliated with on or off campus, I feel that this was written in a way to make us look bad when there are many other people who expressed the same concerns as we did at the time, only too afraid to say it publicly like we did, I don’t apologize for what I said, I apologize for the circumstances it was written under.

    As far as BSUMP, this has nothing to do with the essence of the organization if we look back in history everyone and every culture reflects right back to Africa, in every culture you will see that there are “black” folks in Asia, North America, South America, Europe, all the continents and all the cultures.

    Those of you reading this should look at the full picture as a whole and understand where this passion is fueling from, opinions are opinions and we all have the freedom of speech, but I suggest that everyone take a look at the facts before you attack one side that is clearly playing foul.

    Know your history before running your mouth, thank you, and I wanted to comment with my own words on this “report” instead of giving it to someone who will obviously twist them around. SMH, God Bless all of y’all and I will be praying for the peace and common sense to be brought to this school and the individuals involved in this entire thing!

  8. BSUMP Follower,

    I was at those meetings, all of those meetings. I have my own opinion in the process and those tweets shows the actions and words that are in reference to all the progress SG has pushed forth. The new governor now sits with the resolution passed that was agreed on both ends. Take this as a call for new leadership based on words. After all “a picture is worth 1000 words; but actions speak louder than words”

    Seeing the words that were written last year in the process and the serious hate mail that came to SG, it hasn’t changed that leadership is finding a way to make an “oops, i accidentally my words.” as an easy getaway. You are responsible for what you say and it will be put against the test of times.

    As for where we come from, you can have your own assumptions to our heritage and where we all dispersed from; that is amendment 1 working.

    Brandon, keep up the good work in your reporting. Your words bring that third aspect to the equation that everyone must see.

  9. “Seeing the words that were written last year in the process and the serious hate mail that came to SG”

    This is in reference to BSUMP’s reaction to the original decision last year by SG

  10. Anony-moose Says:

    All you liberals need to get your act straight. Stop moaning and groaning about your actions and being caught red handed in the act with your words. Last time I checked, a year or so ago, BSU formally used its distribution e-mail address to send out mail about how greedy student government was and how BSU should die if it is a club because of “ancestry.” If that is the case, LET’S RESSURECT ACORN!!! Enough said, all you drone minded people need to get some common sense 🙂

    Knowledge is free.
    We are Anonymous.
    We are Legion.
    We do not forget.
    Expect us.

    (oh and lay off the Kool-aid)!

  11. BSU/MP:

    If you think this report was written to make you look bad, you’re obviously retarded.

    Think before you go bashing someone publicly online. There are consequences to every action. If you think this makes you look bad, maybe its because… hmm.. i dont know… you do look bad. Stop trying to defend yourself because the evidence is right in front of everyone’s face. Just accept it and apologize.

  12. House of Representative Says:

    Bad move, BSUMP.

    Regardless of how much one disagrees with another’s perspective, a reaction like this cannot be justified. How immature of you all! Good luck dealing with the consequences.

  13. FAU ALUM Says:

    It’s funny sitting here reading all these opposition statements. It really is people. Don’t you know that if BSUMP is broken up as most of you would like to see happen anyway, that it’s going to start a domino effect? What’s to stop someone esle from introducing bills against other clubs and organizations that are connected to student government? Has anyone stopped to think about that? No, because everyone is so focused on BSUMP right now that you probably have no idea if someone is drafting a bill towards another club or organization on campus to which you maybe a member. Not that I’m confirming that…but what if I were. What if I were giving you heads up on what is to come in the near future?…I’ll just say this and be done…You guys better wake up…LOL LOL LOL

  14. “I am not at all happy with this ‘report’, after this thing has been squashed fueling the fire makes no sense, yes I tweeted those things and I meant it at the time, anyone who knows who I am personally knows that I would never actually takes those actions seriously.”

    I’m not happy with this report either, but for totally different reasons than yours.

    How exactly was Brandon biased in this blog? Maybe I missed the bias the first 3-4 times I read this blog? The next time someone faults Brandon’s reporting could they please give some details to support their contention?

    I am having a difficult time understanding how you “meant it” when you said/wrote that you wanted to shoot/injure Sai Lo but that it shouldn’t matter because anyone who really knows you would know that you were talking shit? This comment is ridiculous! Did you also mean the racist comments or were you just talking shit again? I have to ask because I do not know you. I did know Ancel Pratt, and he would not approve of this behavior which has set BSU back and made its members look violent and racist. You seem to be too angry to accept responsibility and/or be ashamed.

    “The words posted were posted through anger and just like my former President said, they should not reflect who I am affiliated with on or off campus, I feel that this was written in a way to make us look bad when there are many other people who expressed the same concerns as we did at the time, only too afraid to say it publicly like we did, I don’t apologize for what I said, I apologize for the circumstances it was written under.”

    I am not going to comment on the lack of writing/editing skills, but I will say that your comments are too vague.

    How exactly was Brandon biased in his reporting? I am trying to see your point, but without specifics I am having a difficult time in doing so.

    I agree that this blog makes BSU look bad, however it is not Brandon’s words that make you look bad. Those words belong to yourself and BSU’s (current/former) leadership. I believe that the BSU leadership made these comments public. It seems that you are more angry with Brandon than you are with the comments and/or the person(s) who spoke them.

    When someone is a leader in the community (which this person is/was the moment they were sworn into the BSU board) their actions (whether intentional or unintentional) reflect not only the person (actor) but also any organization that the person is a part of (i.e. BSU, FAU, or other). This is true regardless or whether or not that person meant them (words) to be reflective of BSU or not.

    “As far as BSUMP, this has nothing to do with the essence of the organization if we look back in history everyone and every culture reflects right back to Africa, in every culture you will see that there are “black” folks in Asia, North America, South America, Europe, all the continents and all the cultures.”

    All of FAU’s clubs, organizations, and agencies are multi-cultural. Are you attempting to say that BSU should remain BSU&MP because the continent of Africa is supposedly the cradle of civilization? Actually I think your argument here proves that BSU&MP needs to be split into two groups (MP, which would/could oversee all Multicultural activities and BSU). If we are all black then BSU&MP is redundant and unnecessary (the name NOT the organization).

    The really sad part is that the history of this organization and the great work that it has done has been tainted by this. The sooner that BSU’s leadership realizes this the better.

    I believe that BSU will continue to have a cloud over its head until its leadership takes full responsibility and apologizes for the comments. I know what you are now going to say; “We have apologized.” I have nothing against BSU, however I have not seen or heard any BSU member apologize without also trying to justify their actions in the process (“I don’t apologize for what I said, I apologize for the circumstances it was written under.”). That is not what I call an apology.

    What a shame (for BSU and FAU).

  15. Seriously? Says:

    Ouch.

    I think that the main reason politics bother me so much, and why I am always reading about them, is that politicians never seem to be able to apologize for their actions. It seems that this is the case for the people in BSUMP.

    Say:

    I’m sorry. My remarks were inappropriate.

    That’s all we want to hear.

    Stop skirting around the issue and giving excuses. No one wants to hear them, especially not me. As Dan mentioned, no matter where you are on campus and no matter what you say you represent BSUMP and FAU. Period.

    I know that when discussions get heated and things get out of hand people say things that they might later recognize were inappropriate. I guess you guys learned your lesson! Keep your comments and tweets private. When you publish them online, everyone has the ability to read them and repost them. Do you really want people to see you this way?

  16. What you all who are demanding an apology fail to realize is that the damage is very much done. Hopefully they will find less public venues to vent their frustrations…

    Forcing these people to make apologies that you and I both know are not sincere would just make light of an otherwise serious situation. I happen to know all of these people very well and in my opinion the situation had to have been very serious for it to escalate to this point. Those of us without positions/ responsibility take for granted being able to say whatever we want without repercussion. While I regret what this has done for us as BSUMP, I urge you all to put on someone else’s shoes.

    You don’t know the struggles that are taking place behind closed doors. You don’t know what is really going on yet you criticize from the outside looking in where it’s convenient. I wish that they had not gotten caught saying these things, however I know that they are the product of years of hidden struggle with representatives of Student Government and the school.

    Someone may reply to my post with something like “it’s not our fault that they chose to be in that position” but let me remind you that someone has to fight for whats right even if you (the bystanders) won’t!

    Remember this quote from the Holocaust because I think it’s very viable in this situation and those of you who know the bill that was proposed within SG a few weeks ago will agree.

    When the Nazis came for the communists,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a communist.

    When they locked up the social democrats,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a social democrat.

    When they came for the trade unionists,
    I did not speak out;
    I was not a trade unionist.

    When they came for the Jews,
    I remained silent;
    I wasn’t a Jew.

    When they came for me,
    there was no one left to speak out.

    Thank you for reading and God bless you all.

  17. Another FAU Alumnus Says:

    Brandon should be commended for his reporting.

    BSU&MP is one of the most well funded student organizations on campus. Funded by students. Its directors are paid salaries. It’s mission is to provide multicultural programming for all students. It does this by way of student A&S funding.

    The PROGRAMMING director of an organization, funded by all students, designed to produce quality programming for ALL students of all ethnicities, makes racial slurs online?

    And the vice president of another enormous, student funded organization, Konbit Kreyol, threatens violence against someone she disagrees with?

    These leaders should be fired. As an FAU alumnus, I’m embarrassed that these idiots will be walking around town with FAU degrees. It does the entire FAU community a disservice.

  18. Brandon- After reading through all five parts of the series it is still unclear why the BSU members are so upset. You’ve done a good job explaining the twitter language but people like myself have no idea what the article is about. Are they mad about the name change?

  19. Ms. Erilus Says:

    If you want an apology, then here it is, I AM SORRY AND I TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY FOR WHAT I SAID, there are you all happy??? I am tired of all this back and forth and I am done with politics. Thank you fizix for what you said it is very true. As for everyone else this whole thing and was blown way out of proportion. Say what you want, I’m sorry, now let me be, I’m done, there is life outside of FAU…..

  20. Upon reading the entire report, it seems to me that it the issue started off as addressing the coming reform of BSUMP and then changed into “oh look what these people said on the internet”

    In my opinion it makes the reporter look like an intern for the National Inquirer.

    You have yet to address the actual facts besides the fact that they are working on a restructure. If I were you, I would spend less time invading people’s blogs and social media sites in order to make them look bad to the public and more time uncovering whats going on under your very own nose.

    What is your real agenda here reporter?

  21. Ms. Erilus Says:

    “Heh…” THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!!!!

  22. FLZIX:
    “What you all who are demanding an apology fail to realize is that the damage is very much done. Hopefully they will find less public venues to vent their frustrations…”

    “Forcing these people to make apologies that you and I both know are not sincere would just make light of an otherwise serious situation. I happen to know all of these people very well and in my opinion the situation had to have been very serious for it to escalate to this point. Those of us without positions/ responsibility take for granted being able to say whatever we want without repercussion. While I regret what this has done for us as BSUMP, I urge you all to put on someone else’s shoes.”

    Could you please explain what you mean when you say/write, “What you all who are demanding an apology fail to realize is that the damage is very much done”?

    Why are so many people making excuses for BSU leadership’s horrible judgement? “the situation had to have been very serious for it to escalate to this point.” When you write/say/think shit like this you are basically saying that this behavior is understandable because people were really upset. These people are still representative of FAU. You bet your ass as an alumni I would like someone to actually take some goddamn responsibility for their actions. President Obama gave a speech about education where he emphasized the need for personal responsibility. BSU must have not been listening. Maybe they just did not care.

    “You don’t know the struggles that are taking place behind closed doors. You don’t know what is really going on yet you criticize from the outside looking in where it’s convenient. I wish that they had not gotten caught saying these things, however I know that they are the product of years of hidden struggle with representatives of Student Government and the school.”

    So if we knew these “struggles” then we would understand the racist and violent comments made by BSU leadership? This is absurd. Nobody said that the members of BSU did not have the right to be upset. What we are saying is that you do not have the right to justify your actions no matter how upset you are (whether justly or unjustly). Who made these people/students leaders?

    “Someone may reply to my post with something like ‘it’s not our fault that they chose to be in that position’ but let me remind you that someone has to fight for whats right even if you (the bystanders) won’t!”

    I wouldn’t necessarily say that you (BSU) is right. All clubs are multi-cultural by law. BSU ought to nut-up and admit that they are pissed about losing money and status. Period. On top of this you are justifying your acts of racism and condonation of violence over money. You ought to be ashamed of yourselves.

    P.S.
    Your quote about the holocaust is abhorrent! How dare you try to analogize the murder of 3 million plus people to a student government run CLUB getting their budget reduced. You are probably too ignorant to see how rude and insensitive your comments are.

    ———

    MS. ERILUS:
    “If you want an apology, then here it is, I AM SORRY AND I TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY FOR WHAT I SAID, there are you all happy??? I am tired of all this back and forth and I am done with politics. Thank you fizix for what you said it is very true. As for everyone else this whole thing and was blown way out of proportion. Say what you want, I’m sorry, now let me be, I’m done, there is life outside of FAU…..”

    Thank you for this heartfelt apology. Not.

    Are you trying to make FAU look bad?

    You may be sorry, but you have no remorse.

    Your apology is “Flum-Dumb”. It is flaw. It is fake, just like you.

    FAU needs you in a leadership position like I need Diabetes.

    I guess you represent the hundreds of ignorant and pestilent student body at FAU.

    Frankly, you make all FAU and African American students look bad with this behavior. Luckily I am not a racist (like yourself) and I will not hold your behavior and lack of ethics against all FAU students and/or black people.

    ————–

    HEH:
    “Upon reading the entire report, it seems to me that it the issue started off as addressing the coming reform of BSUMP and then changed into “oh look what these people said on the internet”

    In my opinion it makes the reporter look like an intern for the National Inquirer.

    You have yet to address the actual facts besides the fact that they are working on a restructure. If I were you, I would spend less time invading people’s blogs and social media sites in order to make them look bad to the public and more time uncovering whats going on under your very own nose.

    What is your real agenda here reporter?”

    Where is the fucking logic?!

    I. Brandon writes about the BSU re-organization.

    II. In reaction, BSU leadership (ha!) decides to publish racist and violent comments.

    III. Brandon re-publishes the comments in context.

    This is not sensationalism; its good reporting.

    Here I thought that FAU’s standards were going up? By the looks of these student’s comments I guess that I heard wrong.

    BSU and FAU deserve better than this. They deserve better than you. Period.

  23. Ms. Erilus Says:

    I am not trying to make FAU look bad, I am saying that there are other things to be concerned about, I am not a racists, no where near it, your statement: “Frankly, you make all FAU and African American students look bad with this behavior. Luckily I am not a racist (like yourself) and I will not hold your behavior and lack of ethics against all FAU students and/or black people.” Is racist in itself, how do I represent all of FAU and African American Students, thats just like saying that one person represents all, so with your thought process, the KKK are a bad representation of all white people. I know who I am and what I am, I’m done with this stuff and I am just going to focus on my education and get out of here. People like you are not worth my energy, this is the last time I am going to comment on this. I’ve got other things to deal with and worry about. Goodbye all and God Bless.

  24. Seriously? Says:

    I think these comments have gotten a little out of hand. As Dan mentioned, after I got back on this site and read the Holocaust poem I wanted to scream at the top of my lungs. I stopped from posting anything and let it go. NEVER make a connection to a poem of that magnitude to something as little as this. EVER. Understand? God forbid if I started bringing up connections between this and how we have treated people on American soil over the past hundreds of years…and continue to treat them to this day.

    Brandon, I think it would be great if you maybe had an interview with the person who wrote the bill and the people that are against it?

  25. @Dan

    Could you please explain what you mean when you say/write, “What you all who are demanding an apology fail to realize is that the damage is very much done”?

    What I meant by this is that even if they apologize, it will not help the situation. Especially if they are not sorry about it (as you saw in Ms. Erilus’s post.)

    For those of you got offended with me posting up the poem, I sincerely apologize. You must have misunderstood the similarities I was trying to display. The poem talks about groups being targeted while others sit and watch because they are not affiliated with it. When it was them that was next, no one was around to help because they were all gone.

    Once BSUMP is “taken care of” whats to stop people from rounding on the next group claiming that it “needs reform”? THATS the point I was trying to make, NOT compare it to millions of people dying (that quite frankly would have been ridiculous).

    First of all, let me just say that the issue is not about a budget cut as “seriously?” assumes. Have you all even looked at the bill that was proposed? If you have, get some more clarification on it.

    One more thing, this is not an issue of racism as Dan so loves to assume. In fact, the more you post trying to accuse, the more you look like a racist yourself (which I don’t believe is true because I have read your other post in different articles). This is an issue of manipulation and politics.

    It’s very easy for one to misread intention when reading what someone writes. Please keep that in mind…

  26. So nobody from BSU used racist remarks in reference to Mr. Lo?

    Nobody called him “a little asian man” or “a sumo wrestlin’ lookin’ ass nigga”?

    So nobody from BSU condoned violence?

    I better stop antagonizing you before you ask your friends to help you “jump me”.

    I forgot to point out before BSU leadership’s subtle use of homophobia as well. I chose to (point it out) now because I didn’t want anyone to think that I am suckin’ BSU’s dick.

    The level of your ridiculousness is amazing!

    I also love how now I am racist for saying that your comments reflect all FAU students AND Black (Black Student Union) students? Should I have said Afro-American? Maybe I should have said Caribbean-American? My bad.

    The best thing about this article getting so many comments on it (with your name) is now when your future employers “Google” your name (if they are wise enough to research their employees) they’ll get the chance to see exactly how unprofessional and irresponsible you truly are.

    All FAU students, whether they are black, white, hispanic, asian or other should be ashamed of your behavior described here. I’m willing to bet that most students that are aware of this situation are.

    So keep on burying yourself. All I ask is that you think about BSU’s legacy and how your ego is tainting decades of good work before you saw/write something because obviously you don’t give a damn about FAU students; maybe you still care about BSU though.

    P.S.

    Flzix,

    Nobody is “targeting” you or BSU. The radio station, newspaper and TV station all lost their advisors this week. The newspaper’s advisor of 12 years is willing to volunteer; why shouldn’t BSU’s leadership do the same? Are you too good to do what you do for free or does BSU’s leadership only do what they do for money?

    Budget cuts are abound friend. The problem with BSU’s current leadership is that they feel as if they are entitled to $90k a year no matter what happens to everyone around them. They are not.

    Besides, if all FAU clubs must be multi-cultural then why should one multi-cultural club get more money than any other?

    Lets face it, the only reason that BSU does “more” than most other clubs/agencies is that they have a larger budget than most. Give any club $90k and I’d bet that they would be as likely to have the same amount of participation as BSU does at their events. The leadership at BSU has begun to feel entitled to tens of thousands of dollars every year. This entitlement has led to big egos. These big egos have a lot to lose politically.

    The “changes” amounted to a name change and budget cuts. Period. So the wounded egos feel as if they have to sex-up what is going on by claiming some conspiracy. I hate to rain on your parade, but there is no conspiracy. All that exists is a small group of sad people that want to bring down the legacy of a beautiful and meaningful group like BSU simply because their perceived social value has declined.

    What a shame.

  27. Oh yeah…

    God bless.

  28. […] controversial statements about other SG officials on Twitter, including the one above. Read more on OwlWatch. Leave a Reply Cancel replyYour email address will not be published. Required fields are marked […]

Leave a Reply

