One Governorship Decided; One Contested [Updated]

One of the two remaining elements keeping this election cycle going is resolved, and as for the other, well. What’s one more week?

I checked with the election chair after the 5 p.m. deadline for contestations — the Boca governor result stands and so Jamal Hamilton wins, but the much closer Jupiter race is being contested. Election Chair Maria Rivera says there are “a few contestations.”

I didn’t get to ask about them yet; I had a limited time window to interview Abe Cohen for my story in next week’s issue. I will follow up on this in the morning and see what I can find out.

UPDATE: Spoke to SG Adviser Rivka Felsher a little while ago; she confirmed the contestations, couldn’t give me specifics, but said it didn’t sound like there was much evidence or supporting documentation. She’s not ruling out the possibility of another run-off, but doesn’t seem to expect one.

There’s a hearing about the contestations today at 2 p.m. I can’t make it because that’s when I teach class, but I’ll post what they decided this evening.

4 Responses to “One Governorship Decided; One Contested [Updated]”

  1. kaitlyn Says:

    Hey Brandon,
    I’ve heard some rumors around campus today regarding the former Boca campus Treasurer being arrested, any truth to this? if so what was it for? I heard it might be something serious but i don’t want to spread any rumors if they’re not true. Thanks

  2. Informer Says:

    Palm Beach Post Article concerning recent arrest of FAU student:

    http://www.palmbeachpost.com/localnews/content/local_news/epaper/2009/04/07/0407fauarrest.html

  3. Brandon Says:

    Kaitlyn,

    As “Informer” says, yes, it’s true. Thanks to you both for being cautious about rumors and for coming to the blog.

Leave a Reply

