Ayala Remainders

A photo illustration of Ayala looking through the bars at the playground visible from his Boca apartment. (Photo by Liz Dzuro, Photo illustration by Adam Sheetz)

A photo illustration of Ayala looking through the bars at the playground visible from his Boca apartment. (Photo by Liz Dzuro, Photo illustration by Adam Sheetz)

My cover story on the Ayala arrest is out today. If you haven’t picked up a print copy, you can read it online here. The print is worth it for the two illustrations, though, one of which you see here.

If you’ve been following along on the blog, you won’t see a whole lot of new information — I felt keeping people informed as I went was the right thing to do in this case.

There are a few things to add or reiterate at this point, though.

First, for those first visiting the blog and looking for the police report, it’s here. Expect explicit language.

Second, I said a few things in the story were “as of press time” which for the UP typically means Friday at 5 p.m. Those things are still true today: Ayala hasn’t been bailed out and hasn’t contacted us about visitation. A week and a half after his arrest, it’s probably safe to say he doesn’t want to talk to anybody.

Third, the public defender’s office got back to me and pretty much told me they can’t get back to me. Yet.

From an e-mail with the chief of the felony division: “At this time we have not received authorization to disclose anything about this client or his case, but I have forwarded your e-mail to the attorney assigned.”

So that’s that, for now. I’ll be attending the court hearing in May if possible, and this case will be followed, but for now, there’s not a whole lot more to say, news-wise.

But I’d like to briefly address some of the attitudes and beliefs I’ve seen in the comments. I’m not going to slog through them and directly address specific people, especially since most of you post anonymously and/or as multiple people, but a couple  of points.

First, I’ve heard and read that Pikes have a reputation for date-rape and other things, in the comments here and on that sleazy JuicyCampus site (and the site that replaced it, CollegeACB). For me, this is all hearsay, especially since it’s anonymous. But all rumors start somewhere, and my best guess is they’re sourced from when Pikes were banned from FSU, and also other instances where Pikes were banned from Northern Arizona and UF. It could also be based on gossipy retellings of personal interactions, but I don’t know anything about those.

I’m not trying to make a case about Pikes. That would take a lot of fallacious reasoning. I’m not attacking or defending them. I’m just reporting about Chris Ayala, who is a Pike and was an SG treasurer. Those are the things he’s known at FAU for, as an individual.

This story isn’t about exploiting Student Government or Pi Kappa Alpha or pointing fingers and saying “these guys are like this.” I hope people realize what we’re trying to do is describe a person and an event, not make a generalization. To the extent I tried to talk to people in SG or PKA for this story, it was to find out what kind of guy Ayala was from the people who knew him.

And it turns out people haven’t got much to say besides “I’m shocked” and “he was a hard worker.” That’s OK. But the point was to represent Ayala as accurately and clearly as possible, not to indict anyone or imply dark associations. What you read into the story is up to you.

18 Responses to “Ayala Remainders”

  1. Brandon, are people in SG/Student Affairs still not talking? Don’t you think that’s a little weird?

  2. Not really. There’s no new information so I don’t think it’s surprising nobody wants to talk. It may have come up at the House meeting on Friday; I missed this one because I was finishing the story. I’ll find out, but I kind of doubt it.

    If there any reactions now that my story’s in print, I’ll post those.

  3. Thank you for your comment Brandon. We know that you’ve been fair and respectful in your reporting. You would think that your comments should go without saying; When in Boca…

  4. I don’t know what to say. I’m sorry for this young lady’s experience. At 13, any girl who is being sexually active is probably emotionally damaged in one way or another because I’ve been there and I was…Thinking the only way a guy will love you and stick around is if you put out… I’m glad she is in therapy and I wish I had began therapy at that age.
    The law is there to protect and to serve. In this case, she needed protection from herself and bad choices and as an adult, legally speaking only of course, Chris should have recognized that her age and, whatever other issues are there, compromised her ability to make the right decision. Thus it was up to him as the adult to step up to the plate and do the right thing. He didn’t however and, I am so sad that Chris had to learn this lesson in such an extreme way. We can all be slaves to our impulses. My prayers will ask for the best outcome for all parties involved and that both she and Ayala be given the opportunity to pick up the pieces and go on after proper restitution is made.

  5. Brandon,

    How much longer does the UP intend on bilking this story? I mean, what more can you say until he goes to court?

    Don’t get me wrong, this story is newsworthy; But, is it deserving of a front page story and multiple blog posts?

    Please don’t allow the UP (or your blog) to become mere tabloid fodder. Weekly World News left Boca years ago. If things continue this way, we’ll likely be reading about the Owl Boy that lives in the utility tunnels underneath the school. Some say you can hear him screeching on nights where there is a full-moon. Whoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooot!

  6. Dan,

    Yes.

    We’re not “bilking” the story. It broke on Tuesday and it was newsworthy, so we followed it online for three days and then put it all together in print as soon as possible. Not everyone reads the blog. And, as you say, there’s now pretty much nothing else to say until the court date. Hence the title “remainders.”

    No worries, this isn’t the OJ Simpson trial. And while there are still plenty of tabloids operated out of Boca, the UP isn’t one of them.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I don’t understand how the UP expects to be taken seriously as a publication when you find it necessary to post the explicit sexual details that aren’t absolutely vital to the story. We are college students, most with sex lives of our own, we know what goes on, you don’t have to tell readers that Ayala ejaculated into the mouth of a 13 year old. Saying that the story contains explicit language does not make up for the fact that you wrote these unnecessary details. The thing that you are forgetting is that while he made an enormous mistake, and there is no excuse, Ayala is still a person, not a monster, before he was treasurer of Student Government, or a member of Pike, he was a student, just like you and I are. He made a mistake that will follow him for the rest of his life, but if all of you at the UP can sit there and say that you have never made a mistake then I can understand you being so harsh on him. The quotes and especially those from the phone conversation were more than enough..you didn’t need the disgusting scandalous details to bulk up this story. Your readers are well aware of the scandalous nature of this story, you are not the National Enquirer, but by writing these details you made your typically repected publication into nothing more than a tabloid. After this article, I’ve completely lost any respect I ever had for the UP. A newspaper like the Sun Sentinel or Palm Beach Post would never publish details of this nature, and you were disrespectful to the reputation of the school newspaper by publishing those details.

  8. Tiffany?

  9. I worked with Ayala for about 6 months, and he became one of my good friends, and I will stand by him no matter what anyone says or thinks of him. He is an amazing person and it breaks my heart that he is in this terrible situation. He’s one of the nicest guys I know. That’s all I have to say.

  10. y comment? cmon. he had ex with someone 10 years younger. did he have an common sense or decency to go along with his kindness when u worked with him? jesus christ, i woulda paid for a hooker for him instead of his dumbass given fau bad publicity.

  11. offering to pay for a hooker for him – women shouldn’t be referred to as property in this way. You are part of the problem. People think of picking up a woman as going to McDonald’s and picking up a “happy meal”. When you respect women as you should, than you have the right to judge Chris for what he did. You objectify women the same way that he does.

  12. […] Ayala’s arrest has solicited some pretty strong feelings from FAU students and alumni, which Owl Watch author Brandon Ballenger addresses here. […]

  13. FAU Student Says:

    Is there a reason the line does not work?

  14. If the allegations are true, then Ayala deserves to go to prison. His actions are unacceptable, and he totally took advantage of this young girl. There’s no excuse for Ayala’s perverted actions.

  15. This guy a total f#@king loser!!!

  16. any new news???

  17. Heya are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.

    Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

